“All Things” Means Me – GMG Colossians Study Days 5 & 6

Colossians 1:15-18

“He is the image of the invisible God, the firstborn over all creation. For everything was created by Him, in heaven and on earth, the visible and the invisible, whether thrones or dominions or rulers or authorities—all things have been created through Him and for Him.  He is before all things,
and by Him all things hold together.  He is also the head of the body, the church; He is the beginning, the firstborn from the dead, so that He might come to have first place in everything.”

Theologians have a field day with this section of Scripture, debating over the origin of Jesus, the timing thereof, His role in creation, etc., etc., et-boring-cetera.

I’m just not a deep thinker. I have often wished I was, but I’m just too practical of a person. So, in keeping with that, let’s make this section practical.

“All things,” “all creation,” and “everything” include me (and you), right?

So, let’s go through and replace every instance of those terms with “me” or “I” (because I’m self-centered like that).

1. He is the “firstborn over ME.” This shows his supremacy, his place above me. The Hebrews were all about the firstborn, conferring a double inheritance and special status to them. He has special status in the order of things, and is first over me (whether I accept that or not).

2. “For I was created by Him.” He made me, fearfully and wonderfully if the Psalmist is to be believed (and he is). He knew me before I was born and he knit me together in my mother’s womb. I am an intentional act on His part. 

3. “I have been created for Him.” My existence is not only an intentional act, I have a purpose. My purpose lies in Him and in Him alone.

4.  “He is before me.”  The commentaries say this refers to time, so this says He existed before I did. He is eternal, He is the Ancient of Days, He is the everlasting God.  His timing is not mine because He exists on a different plane of time than I do, and His ways and thoughts are way above mine.

5.  “By Him I hold together.” Gill’s Exposition says, “…the whole frame of nature would burst asunder and break in pieces, was it not held together by Him”. Wesley’s Notes says, “All hings were compacted in Him into one sytem. He is the cement, as well as support, of the universe.” On a personal level, He is also my cement. He is my support. I often feel I would break in pieces were it not for Him. Is He a crutch for me, as some atheists say scornfully? Abso-freakin’-lutely.

6. “…that He might come to have first place in ME.”  He deserves it. Period.

Thank You, Lord, for Who You are!

Leave a Reply

