A Prayer for My Children (Days 3 & 4 of GMG Colossians Study)

Colossians 1:9-12 contains one of the most beautiful intercessory prayers in Scripture. Paul tells the believers at Colosse that he prays for them continually and without stopping. 

As a mother, I pray for my children in much the same way – continually and without stopping. And when we say goodnight prayers together, much of my prayers over them are Scripture.

So when I read the passage for today and tomorrow, I decided to learn these verses so I can add it to my prayers. 

Here is how I want to pray: 

Lord, I ask You to fill [insert names] with the knowledge of Your will through all the wisdom and understanding that the Spirit gives, so that they may live a life worthy of You and please You in every way: bearing fruit in every good work, growing in the knowledge of You, being strengthened with all power according to Your glorious might so that they may have great endurance and patience, and giving joyful thanks to You, who have qualified them to share in the inheritance of Your holy people in the kingdom of light.

Is there much else to want for your kids than to pray that…

– they know His will
– they have wisdom and understanding from the Spirit
– they live a life pleasing to Him
– they bear good fruit
– they grow in knowledge of Him
– they are strengthened with all power
– they have endurance and patience
– they give joyful thanks to Him

That covers it quite nicely, I think!

Leave a Reply

